Dancing to Dubstep: Not as impossible as you think…

The song “Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster and the People has a pretty dark undercurrent you wouldn’t notice until you really paid attention the the words. Even though it has a very upbeat and seemingly happy tempo, the song is actually written from the perspective of a troubled and delusional youth. Although there is a possibility that I enjoy listening to this song because I was a psychology major and of course all psych majors love getting into people’s minds, I think a major reason why I love this song is because it actually has a meaning and a type of social relevancy that many current popular songs are lacking.

One day I went onto YouTube to listen to the song as background music and the second video that appeared in the results was entitled “Pumped Up Kicks Dubstep.” I can’t say I am the biggest fan of the genre, however I was curious as to how a dubstep version of the song would sound and why this particular video had over 65 million views.

Turns out that the video is actually of a guy, Marques Scott, dancing to the dubstep version of the song. I am not sure if there is a name for this particular style of dance. It is a combination of popping, isolations, warping, and fluidity. Whatever this style of dance is called, it is a perfect example of how dancers can move and manipulate their bodies in astounding ways.

Dancers in this style use all of these elements in order to move their body so it seems as though they manipulating time. You can see each movement as it is being executed, from the simplest walking motion to the most complicated slide glide. Marques performs time-warping effects by varying the speed of his movements. The control and meticulousness that is required to make such an elaborate illusion work is mind boggling. Like a magician, he performs amazing feats and makes you wonder how it is possible.

It almost seems as though the dancer is channeling an invisible energy throughout his body. It flows from his feet to his arms to his head and back down again. I enjoy observing how different parts of his body move, sometimes in unison and sometimes it seems as though the moves are in complete opposition. It is incredible to watch and I can certainly see why this video has received so many views. While I can’t say that this video has made me fall in love with the musical genre of dubstep, it has made it even more clear to me that you can dance to just about anything.

Enjoy!

