Celebrating the Earth through Dance

The Earth has music for those who listen.
-George Santayana

I know it has been quite some time since I have written a post for this blog. I will spare you my excuses and just promise to do better. I will say however, that I did think about this blog at least 3 times a week. In March, I was going to write a St. Patty’s Day inspired Irish step dance blog post and earlier this month a post to honor the anniversary of Michael Jackson’s moonwalk. They clearly didn’t pan out but it’s the thought that counts right!?!?!

I even started writing another blog post earlier today and almost let it fall by the wayside just like the others. However, as I was scrolling through my twitter (@danceteadance) feed, I stumbled across a dance that was specifically created and choreographed for Earth Day. When I watched it, that was all of the motivation I needed. In October of 2102, NASA released a sound clip of the Earth singing. The “chorus” as they call it, is “an electromagnetic phenomenon caused by plasma waves in Earth’s radiation belts.” You can read all about the science on NASA’s website. It really is quite beautiful and ethereal. (I do love my puns…) The sounds from that recording were used to create the underlying music for this dance video.

If you are not aware of DS2DIO, I would encourage you to look them up on Youtube. It is one of the premier dance channels and regularly features work from John M. Chu and the love of my life, Christopher Scott. In fact, this video was actually produced and directed by the two. It showcases dancers from different styles moving to the music of the Earth. There is everything from breaking to ballroom to modern. The cinematography and the way they play with perspective is absolutely stunning. I also love the subtle inclusion of elements of the Earth such as water, dirt and that reoccurring puff of smoke or gas as nontraditional props. This certainly is not your typical Earth Day video but I think it is equally as powerful. It make you pause to look and listen to some of the beauty that is in our world. I am so glad that I stumbled upon it and can share it with you.

Enjoy and and may every day be a happy earth day!

