Not Your Normal Duet

Tomorrow I will be going to The Kennedy Center to see Ballet Across America. I know that once I come back, I will be very motivated to write a real blog post… Promise!

In the meantime, I will share one of my favorite videos from The LXD. In this episode, the dance is a duet performed by dancers in two separate spaces. Using split-frame cinematography, you can see both dancers side by side. Even though many of the movements are the same, when it is mirrored this way, I think it is much easier to see the masculine versus the feminine articulation. I also love those precious moments when it seems as though the dancers are “interacting.”  If you are anything like me and wonder what the song in the background is, it is a variation of Clair de lune by Charles Debussy.

Enjoy!

