Uno, Dos, Tres, ZUMBA!

Zumba, (Si), Ella quiere su Zumba, (Como? )- Pitbull, Calle Ocho

Ok, so maybe Pitbull didn’t actually say that in his song, however it wouldn’t be especially far off to replace rumba with zumba… They only differ by one letter and the movements can be quite similar in nature. Founded in 2001, Zumba combines fitness, music and culture with dance to create a high-intensity and impact workout experience. It brands its classes as “fitness-parties” that blend “upbeat world rhythms with easy-to-follow choreography.” Zumba is meant to be fun and a celebration. Just look at their marketing…

zumbafitness530

While it has been around for some time, Zumba didn’t gain popularity and widespread social appeal until very recently. The entire concept was actually created by Colombian dancer and choreographer Alberto “Beto” Perez during the 1990s. He forgot the regular music for his aerobics class so he improvised with the music he had on hand. The rest, as they say, is history. Although Zumba launched internationally in 2007, it wasn’t until 2011 that it became the largest branded fitness program in the world, with more than 12 million weekly class participants in 110,000 locations across more than 125 countries. That’s why it seems as though about two years ago, it came out of nowhere. Now Zumba has grown to 14 million participants in 151 countries.

Zumba actually reminds me of my dance group in college. It makes sense since Zumba has Caribbean and Latin inspired roots, with some hip-hop thrown in. Browsing through the various videos on YouTube, I thought to myself, “this is my warm-up.” As a little side note, warm-up was definitely one of my favorite parts of CSA. I would make my dancers run around in circles, do high knees, shake their bottoms, get extremely out of breath, and then start the actual practice. I recall saying once, if I couldn’t collect their sweat in a cup, they (my dancers) were not working hard enough. Oh how I miss those days…

The two videos I am posting today are extremely fun and you can actually follow along if you like. Please keep in mind that Zumba is primarily a workout routine and a dance piece second. Therefore, videos can be a bit repetitive if you are just watching them. However if you are actually following along, you really wouldn’t/shouldn’t mind! This first video is an official video produced by the Zumba organization. It explicitly walks you through the choreography so it is very easy to dance along with. The second video is a routine from a real Zumba class. The quality isn’t as great as I would like, however it is still fun to watch and actually do. It is clear that the choreographer (Medora Cesarano) is having the time of her life. She also gets brownie points because she uses the song “Bang Bang” by Will.i.am from the Great Gatsby soundtrack (I listen to the entire soundtrack almost everyday. Obsessed? Maybe…). Anywho, I legitimately love everything about this video including the swag tank.

Hope you enjoy and get moving!

