Combining Dance and CGI

Oh look, I am becoming a regular blogger again. I am on a roll!!! Last Sunday, I spent roughly three hours straight watching dance videos on Vimeo and YouTube. Although it had been a while since I participated in such a long dance video marathon, it was wonderfully invigorating! I just couldn’t stop clicking on those “recommended videos.” While I was being sucked into that black hole, I did have a moment of clarity where I remembered to make a note of the best videos I saw so I could share them with you.

Although I had been on Vimeo once or twice before, it wasn’t until last week that I really spent a significant amount of time searching its database for dance videos. Compared to YouTube, I found dance videos that were generally more artistic, had greater depth and creativity, and also were more developed and planned. Vimeo has some amazing artfully produced dance short films.

In fact, there is where I found a short film that used computer generated imagery to compliment the movements of the dancer in the video. I am not talking about the use of CGI in the background of a major motion picture like Step Up 3D or even dance films that are completely animated through the use of 2D or 3D graphics. I am talking about flawlessly integrated computer graphics with live dancing so it seems as though the two are interacting or working in tandem, rather than using each other as a prop.

Embrace

The first video I am presenting is a short film/art project I found on Vimeo and the other two are commercials found on Youtube. As written in the first video’s description, “Embrace (2012) is a 2D motion graphics work that combines live action video of a dance performance with graphic effects to demonstrate an artist’s journey towards creative ecstasy.” First of all, I would like to go on record saying that the dancer, Megan E. Martinez, is g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s. Her movement is incredibly fluid and expressive and the way the black viscous liquid oozes with her was very skillfully done. It almost seems as though the “liquid” was there in the room while she was filming. For me, that demonstrates how spectacular the choreography was and just how devoted Megan was to the story. I will admit, the video is slightly unsettling to watch the first time, however it is also extremely captivating. It’s a very unique concept and I personally haven’t seen anything like it before.

The second two videos are actually commercials from Samsung France promoting the Galaxy phone. It showcases the emerging style of tutting. How does this  commercial have anything to do with the Galaxy? Absolutely nothing. But then again, the Evian babies have nothing to do with drinking water… Also, I really appreciate that the Samsung “Unleash Your Fingers” website is completely dedicated to various tutting videos. Don’t worry if you don’t know what tutting is. A post is coming soon…

Enjoy!

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyMfpJh3h4A] [youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1eD_I-llCL8]
