Dance and Fashion: Two Worlds Collide

I’ve always had a relatively refined fashion sense. I bought my first suit in the 8th grade. I loved that suit because I thought it made me look important and powerful. I admired women in suits and felt that I was on my way to becoming one of them. As I’ve grown older, my love of suits remains. I would classify my style as contemporary business casual…

gucci-pre-fall-2013-campaign-e1377185196791

Ultimately, style is about expressing yourself through fashion. Similarly, dance is about expressing yourself through movement. They can both covey a story and have many interpretations.

The two videos I am sharing today show an intersection of fashion and dance. Both videos are short films featuring collections from rag & bone and Rachel Roy (yes, that Rachel Roy).

The film for the Rachel Roy collection showcases many dancers and various dance styles. There isn’t a major emphasis on the clothing and if I didn’t tell you this film was produced for a fashion brand, you probably would not have thought twice. The dancing is the primary focus of the film. The only time where I really noticed the clothing was during the second vignette. I find that particular sequence mesmerizing. I love how you can see the lines of the dancer underneath the fabric. Through her struggle to escape the garment, the breathability and elasticity of the fabric is showcased.

I am also captivated by the the fluidity of the two dancers performing waves with their arms. They remind me of boneless ocean creatures. Even though the hairography in this film is quite impressive, I think my favorite vignette is the two dancers right after the silent group dance (3:04). Their grace and athleticism is stunning.

The second short film from rag & bone featuring Mikhail Baryshnikov and Lil Buck serves as a contrast. Whereas in the Rachel Roy film, you barely notice the clothing, there is a clear emphasis on the collection in this piece. However, due to the cinematography and the sharp transitions, it doesn’t feel overwhelming or forced. There is a very calculated balance between highlighting the clothing and highlighting the movement.

I’m not sure if it was intentional, however, I am reminded of The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo the beginning when Lil’ Buck and Baryshnikov are reaching out to each other. I love the intensity and harshness of this film. Like the first film, there is a stark white backdrop, however this is edited to be much more monochromatic. I just don’t understand why Baryshnikov walks away from the chess game. He barely played the first move. 10 point if you can solve that mystery 🙂 Enjoy!

